Never too late homemade Mince Pie Filling for people who don’t like mince pie filling

I’ve never been a big fan of boozy mince pie filling or those with horrible bits of suet in them. I don’t like Christmas pudding (except my chocolate Guinness one, but that’s another blog post maybe) and detest all those rich brandy and rum mince pies and the like. It’s not until recently I’ve grown to appreciate a mince pie and that’s mostly due to starting to make my own pastry and filling. This year I forgot to make it when I usually do around stir up Sunday. But really you don’t need that long to mature it. My recipe is fruity and apple-y with aromatic spice rather than all that booze richness. A lovely filling for an all butter short crust pastry mince pie. Custard, cream or ice cream with yours?

1kg dry fruit:
100g Dried or glacé cherries ( I went for morello cherries)
100g dried cranberries (sometimes I use dried apricots or blueberries)
200g currants
200g prunes (stoned)
200g raisins
200g sultanas
Bottle of good cider
250g light brown sugar
750g apples, cooking, dessert or a mix of the two cubed
1tbs mixed spice
1tsp ground ginger
1/2 nutmeg grated
Orange zest and juice
Lemon zest and juice
*optional 50ml glug of sloe or blackberry gin*

1. Soak the dried fruit in half the bottle of cider over night or for at least 5 hours.
2. Add the fruit mix juices and all with all the other ingredients into a large stock pot or preserving pan.
3. Bring slowly to a simmer under a low heat and simmer gently until the apple is soft and you can draw a spoon through the mixture and it takes a few seconds to fill back. I like to have a few whole chunks of Apple in the mixture.
Turn off heat and stir through your gin if using.
5. Spoon the mix while hot into your warm sterilised jars. Seal and set aside to mature for couple of weeks. You can use it straight away if you like. The mixture will last 12 months so I like to make a large batch so I have some for next Christmas so I don’t have to make it every year. Bonus!

Author: Crafty Garden Hoe

For me it’s all about the simple things in life. Pottering around my allotment, growing things indoors and out, baking a good cake, being outside, pretty things, vintage finds and a good pot of tea. It’s all the small things that make me tick, noticing the beauty in everyday things. Although this blog initially was intended to be a blog about all these things its evolved into being basically a blog about our allotment. Our adventures, highs and lows, wins and loses. So join me & Mr Wilson as we learn from our mistakes and successes down plot 18a.

Leave a Reply

