Sissinghurst Castle, a jolly out for the day

“What Happiness you and I have derived from that garden – I mean real satisfaction and a feeling of success. It is an achievement – assuredly it is. And it is pleasant to feel that we have created a work of art. It is all your credit really. Mine was just rulers and bits of paper”
Harold to Vita
20140427-161706.jpg

 Here’s a flash back to a day out we had to Sissinghurst castle last September that I never quite got around to posting here. Sissinghurst is a magical place to visit with its fairytale tower and gardens. The quote above is from a plaque you find at the top of the tower as you enjoy the view of the estate and Vita & Harold’s creation, which bought a smile to my face. Reminiscent of my partner and I’s relationship dynamic down our own allotment.

Here’s a few photos from our day out in the beautiful Kent countryside. We will definitely be visiting Sissinghurst again soon that’s for sure.

Author: Crafty Garden Hoe

For me it’s all about the simple things in life. Pottering around my allotment, growing things indoors and out, baking a good cake, being outside, pretty things, vintage finds and a good pot of tea. It’s all the small things that make me tick, noticing the beauty in everyday things. Although this blog initially was intended to be a blog about all these things its evolved into being basically a blog about our allotment. Our adventures, highs and lows, wins and loses. So join me & Mr Wilson as we learn from our mistakes and successes down plot 18a.

One thought on “Sissinghurst Castle, a jolly out for the day”

  1. I’ve never been but it’s one of the gardens on my ‘bucket list’. Your photos show a little slice of heaven, looks like late summer is a good time to go. It would be nice to visit when there are fewer visitors about and really soak up the personal history!

Leave a Reply

