Can we start again please? Starting the New Year over

20130223-100734.jpg

I originally started to draft this post in the new year but I’m ashamed to say I have been neglecting Crafty Garden Hoe of late. In fact 2013 has been pretty busy (started my Masters in Library & Information Studies in September) and crap year for us so far, death in the family, identity fraud and the threat of redundancy over my head means that blog posting has slipped to the wayside. Hopefully by posting this old draft I can get my blogging mojo back? Here goes…

I’ll be honest here and put my hand up and admit I’m not a big fan of New Year’s celebrations. All that forced fun,”it’s going to be the best night ever”, paying to get into your local pub and being forced to wish drunk strangers a happy new year. And don’t get me started on new years resolutions! Before I start to sound like a complete Scrooge i’m not totally anti new-yearsie, the new year is a fresh start a time to look over and assess the events and achievements of 2012. A time to make plans for the coming year, in particular the coming allotment year. Today I paid up our allotment plot rent for 2013, commiting us financially to another growing year down 18a. 2013 will be our fourth season as allotment holders and my third year writing this blog. With seed catalogues on my knee sitting cosy indoors in my pyjamas a accompanied with cuppa planning and daydreaming about what to sow and grow this season. Riffling through my seed tin and now that we’ve completed our raised beds we can really see the potential of what we can produce. I’ve never been one for drawing up plans being more of see what goes kind of gardener, this year I may attempt to draw up a plan of the plot and what to grow where.

So what are our plans down plot 18a for 2013?

Here’s a few of our projects:

Prepare the old strawberry bed for a mini poly tunnel. (My autocorrect just changed poly to poky. I like that, a poky tunnel! It IS going to be very small.)

Clear the junk behind the compost bin for a woodland strip. Shady spot to plant my wild garlic and English bluebells. Maybe even some small ferns?

Construct a bug hotel from spare pallets.

Prepare a pumpkin heap for sowing in late spring. This year we WILL get some decent squashes damn it!

As I post this it’s now late February despite the cold bleak day with the Siberian winds visiting the UK this weekend, outside things are changing. Things are waking, emerging from their compost duvets. The bird song is starting up again with the lighter evenings bringing on their amorous side. Let hope spring brings a change of luck. New season, new start.

Author: Crafty Garden Hoe

For me it’s all about the simple things in life. Pottering around my allotment, growing things indoors and out, baking a good cake, being outside, pretty things, vintage finds and a good pot of tea. It’s all the small things that make me tick, noticing the beauty in everyday things. Although this blog initially was intended to be a blog about all these things its evolved into being basically a blog about our allotment. Our adventures, highs and lows, wins and loses. So join me & Mr Wilson as we learn from our mistakes and successes down plot 18a.

1 thought on “Can we start again please? Starting the New Year over”

  1. Hello Crafty Garden Hoe! It’s so lovely to read a post from you and your allotment is looking great! Sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad start to the year though 😦 and I know exactly what you mean about new year celebrations! I want to go away for it next year because it’s always a let down otherwise!!! Looking forward to seeing your allotment plans unfold this year : )

Leave a Reply

