The Truffle Shuffles.

This valentines in an attempt to give a DIY two-fingers up to Hallmark I thought I’d turn my hand to making some homemade truffles. What better way to express my affection for my Mister than something lovingly handmade, eh? I’d done my homework, swatted up on recipes, how hard could it be? Well short answer very simple, long answer nooooooo.

Now I like to think of myself as a bit of foodie. I love my chocolate and am bonkers about my herbs. Having developed an unhealthy obsession with truffles in recent years (that’s the chocolate variety not the type you need to go ferreting round the woods with a pig in tow) I have a fair idea and palette for what works well and what I want in a truffle. Top on the shopping list for truffles it has to be dark, creamy, rich and damn right dirty! So it’s a no brainer that Green & Blacks is the go to chocolate. Flavour-wise you can never go wrong with a dark chocolate truffle, but sometimes you just want that extra dimension. Booze is often a choice to give your truffle that shuffle, but I’m no fan of boozy chocs. So what else? Booja-booja truffles are my  perfect truffle; dark, dirty and an added bonus vegan and gluten-free. Coming in a variety of forms my favourites being the Stem Ginger and the luscious Raspberry Ecuadorian. So what flavour do I use? I’ve previously confessed my love of lavender as a culinary herb and just so happens to be one that works very well with dark chocolate. A combination I first came across in the form of a lavender chocolate torte at The Gate vegetarian restaurant that blew my tiny mind! So that was that, I still had some dried lavender from the allotment knocking around. Lavender truffles it was to be.

Truffles are in theory easy to make. A Short list of ingredients, basic equipment and minimal washing up (unless your like me a total whirl wind of muck in the kitchen). Now my first attempt pretty they ain’t! It’s a messy affair, a chocolatey, gooey, lick your fingers affair. They may look like sheep poop but they tasted delightfully dirty!

My Lavender Truffles recipe.

175ml whipping cream
1tsp of dried lavender flowers (Or to your personal taste. No one likes their truffles to taste like their grandma’s talcum powder)
200g dark chocolate (at least 70% coco solid) broken into pieces
Good-quality coco for dusting

  1. Cover a chopping board or tray tightly and completely in clingfilm.
  2. in a small saucepan, bring the cream and lavender to simmering point over a low heat.
  3. Remove from the heat and allow to infuse for 10 minutes.
  4. Strain and return the cream to the heat until it reaches simmering point again. Taste. If not strong enough for your liking, leave to infuse for a further 5 minutes.
  5. Place the chocolate in a large bowl and immediately pour the cream over. Mix throughly until all the chocolate has melted.
  6. Allow the mixture to cool at room temperature until it has set. This can take about 1 1/2 hours.
  7. Once the mixture has set, use a teaspoon to spoon out bite size pieces. Dust palms with coco powder to prevent sticking (boy does it stick, a chocolate sticky mess!) Roll pieces into balls.
  8. Immediately roll the truffle in coco powder and place on prepared board to set.
  9. Snuffle your truffles to your hearts desire. ❤
Author: Crafty Garden Hoe

For me it’s all about the simple things in life. Pottering around my allotment, growing things indoors and out, baking a good cake, being outside, pretty things, vintage finds and a good pot of tea. It’s all the small things that make me tick, noticing the beauty in everyday things. Although this blog initially was intended to be a blog about all these things its evolved into being basically a blog about our allotment. Our adventures, highs and lows, wins and loses. So join me & Mr Wilson as we learn from our mistakes and successes down plot 18a.

Leave a Reply

