Lavender’s Blue, Dilly Dilly. My Shortbread Recipe.

a Hidcote lavender

Lavender’s blue, dilly dilly,
Lavender’s green
When you are king, dilly dilly,
I shall be queen

Lavender hands down is my favourite herb, a herb I use everyday. A herb whose scent evokes childhood memories. Memories of long sunny summers playing in our family garden. Senses stirred every time I brush past them or accidentally bruise their foliage, releasing their strong essential oils. Lavender shakes me awake in the morning in my shower gel and gently sends me to a peaceful sleep at nighttime (a couple of drops of lavender oil on pillow each night and I’m out like a light). This recipe brings together lavender with another of my favourite things, shortbread. The lavender used in this recipe is from a few small plants we grow down 18a, English angustifolia’s suitable for culinary use, a Hidcote and a Munstead variety. Picked and dried a few weeks ago the seeds are perfect for using right now. The process of baking this shortbread recipe has to be the most chilled out baking experience with the rush of essential oils filling the kitchen. A perfect pick-me-up for a washed out gloomy afternoon in August.

Biscuits cooling

 

Pestle and Mortar

2 x baking sheets and baking parchment

125g/4½oz Caster Sugar

1 Tablespoon of dried lavender flowers (pounded lightly in the pestle & mortar to release their essential oils)

350g/12oz  Plain Flower

225g/8oz Unsalted Butter

1 Dessert spoon of granulated sugar for topping.

  1. Line two large baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Place the sugar into food processor. Add the butter and cream together.
  3. Sift the flour into the mixture, add lavender seeds (reserve a pinch for sugar topping mix) and mix with a wooden spoon until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
  4. Using floured hands, work the mixture together to form a smooth paste.
  5. Tip onto a lightly floured work surface and knead gently until the dough is smooth. Chill the dough in the fridge for 15 minutes.
  6. Roll the dough out to a 5mm/¼in thickness, and cut out biscuits using cutter (shape of your choice, heart-shaped looks cute). Place the biscuits onto the baking trays, and sprinkle with a little lavender sugar mix (made from the reserved lavender and granulated sugar pounded together in pestle & mortar).
  7. Leave to chill for a further 30 minutes in the fridge.
  8. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 180C/ 350F/Gas 4.
  9. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until pale golden-brown. Carefully place the biscuits onto a cooling rack, sprinkle with extra lavender sugar and set aside to cool completely.
And finally enjoy with a good cup of tea.
Author: Crafty Garden Hoe

For me it’s all about the simple things in life. Pottering around my allotment, growing things indoors and out, baking a good cake, being outside, pretty things, vintage finds and a good pot of tea. It’s all the small things that make me tick, noticing the beauty in everyday things. Although this blog initially was intended to be a blog about all these things its evolved into being basically a blog about our allotment. Our adventures, highs and lows, wins and loses. So join me & Mr Wilson as we learn from our mistakes and successes down plot 18a.

2 thoughts on “Lavender’s Blue, Dilly Dilly. My Shortbread Recipe.”

  1. This is by far one of my favorite things to have with some good tea. So simple. I use the lavender every once in awhile in cooking, especially in my sauteed green beans. When I serve them, no one can ever figure out what’s in it 😉

Leave a Reply

