Make me feel like Spring has sprung

Now that the first official day of Spring has been and gone, the temperatures rising, the birds are singing and the dastardly weeds are rearing their heads again. Down the allotment everything is waking up and stretching free of the earth stirred by lengthening days.

After what seems like weeks, no months of overcast cloudy non-weather this weekend was glorious! The sun shone brightly the breeze was gentle and soothing. Perfect if only all allotment days where like this.

The spring bulbs are still blooming away merrily. The crocuses keep popping up here there and everywhere. Surprising me how so many managed to evade those pesky little squirrels who seem to be able to smell a freshly planted crocus bulb at 50 paces.

These white Crocuses are my favourites. I love the brilliant white with the faint purple line running through the odd petal against the vibrant orange stamen. The Daffodils are popping up randomly around the plot. My favourites being a Cornish variety I picked up called ‘Cornish Chuckles’.

More Crocuses

The Broad beans which I had sown undercover back in January have taken well to their home in the  big bad world. Enjoying the Spring sunshine and tucking into the compost trenches we made back in the autumn.

Broadbean seedlings

With those little beauties coming along nicely. I began sowing another batch of broadbeans, this time the dwarf variety ‘The Sutton’. My first batch I’d sown in modules but I found they made them grow a little leggy mostly due lack of space for them to get a good root down. So for this batch I decided to use a homemade root training style pot in the shape of Loo rolls! (I’ve been saving them for weeks, very Blue Peter)  Hopefully this will help them get a stronger root down, avoid them becoming a mouse’s dinner and the pots themself biodegrade adding some much-needed organic matter to the soil.

 

While I spent a lovely afternoon in my own little seed sowing world, Mr Wilson continued his path’s and construction plans. Rustling up two wonderful paths. A really cute brick path through the strawberries to the water-butt and cold frame and retro looking homage to crazy pathing between the Allium and Roots beds. All made from bricks and pathing slabs we’ve thrifted along the way.

Loo Rolls for sowing

 

 

magic beans

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While having a weed and tidying of the strawberry bed I found this little fellow on my kneeling pad. The tiniest teeniest snail, barely 1cm big. So cute yet will grow up to be a menace to my lettuces! I just didn’t have the heart to squish the little critter so I set him free, for now anyway.

Teeny tiny snail

As the sunset on a beautiful spring day with sun still low in the sky I took some lovely shots of the sun getting ready to set through the wild cherry and plum blossoms around the allotments.

Blossoming blossom

A perfect end to a perfect day.

Author: Crafty Garden Hoe

For me it’s all about the simple things in life. Pottering around my allotment, growing things indoors and out, baking a good cake, being outside, pretty things, vintage finds and a good pot of tea. It’s all the small things that make me tick, noticing the beauty in everyday things. Although this blog initially was intended to be a blog about all these things its evolved into being basically a blog about our allotment. Our adventures, highs and lows, wins and loses. So join me & Mr Wilson as we learn from our mistakes and successes down plot 18a.

Leave a Reply

